Menomonee Judo finds precious medals in Milwaukee

For immediate release – ( Milwaukee, WI. January 27, 2013 ):

In what has become a reoccurring theme, Menomonee Judo took on the top competition in the Midwest and stood tall. A team of eleven Menomonee players traveled to Milwaukee and competed at the Wahadachi Judo Tournament.

At the end of the day, Menomonee Judo returned to Chicago with a total of 11 medals. They included 4 gold medals, 4 silver and three bronze. ” We have put a real emphasis on this tournament for the past few weeks. A lot of what we’ve been doing at the dojo has been geared towards doing our best today. “, explained Menomonee Judo head coach, Brett Wolf. Team Menomonee was a nice mix of players between the ages of 8 and 16. Five of the players participated in a clinic taught by 2012 Olympic Gold Medalist, Kayla Harrison the day before.

There were many highlights for the group from Menomonee. In two deep and talented divisions, they took both gold and silver medals. David Anderson and Erich Sauer went 1st and 2nd in an 11 & 12 year old boys division. Manuel Rosenkranz and Max Antoniou finished 1st and 2nd respectively in a 9 & 10 year old boys division. Gabe Wrubel’s gold medal in another 9 & 10 year old division, included 6 victories. Menomonee Judo has a great depth of quality players in both the 9 & 10 year old and 11 & 12 year old age groups. ” I’m extremely excited to see where our current group of players are headed. On any given day we can have 15 – 20 really solid players on the mat. They are pushing each other to be the best that they can be both individually as well as collectively. “, said Sensei Wolf.

Menomonee Judo will compete next at the Winter Classic Judo Tournament in Hawthorn Woods, IL on Sunday, February 10th.

Complete Menomonee Judo Results:

Wahadachi Judo Tournament
Milwaukee, WI
Sunday, January 27, 2013

1. Gabe Wrubel – 1st place
2. David Anderson – 1st place
3. Manuel Rosenkranz – 1st place
4. Isabella Kurkulis – 1st place and 3rd place
5. Erich Sauer – 2nd place
6. Mikey Mutz – 2nd place
7. Max Antoniou – 2nd place
8. Ben Glick – 2nd place
9. Paul Coons – 3rd place
10. Luke McNamara – 3rd place
11. Sammy Blashill – 4th place

Total Medals – 11
Gold – 4
Silver – 4
Bronze – 3

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply